Sound can pass through Wall of force / forcecage
Home ruling: Yes sound can pass through a wall of force or solid force cage. BUT, as a home rule (Rule of Cool) sound can pass through but it is muffled as if you're talking to someone behind a thick pane of glass. As a home rule you need to be relatively close to the cage /wall and speak loudly for them to hear. For now, I'm not stating a specific distance/decibel formula that needs to be met for communication to work. Suffice it to say if you're whispering so that the enemy can't hear you, neither can the person inside the force cage. You'll need to be "close" to the wall of force and you'll need to speak loudly. I understand this doesn't fit perfectly into the standard understanding of physics in our material world, but D&D is a magical place.
General explanation: There is a spell for "silence" and there are specific abilities / traits that rely upon sound. Because sound is integral to several things, when a spell creates silence or prevents sound it is typically called out in a spell's effect. Therefore, unless the spell specifically states that sound cannot passthrough, it can.
StackExchange has some opinions on this
What about Thunder damage? Because the spells specifically state "...prevents any matter from passing through it and blocking any spells..." or "...It is immune to all damage..." the spells do protect from that.
Note: Both of these spells can provide "total cover" for the purposes of Targeting a Spell
General explanation: There is a spell for "silence" and there are specific abilities / traits that rely upon sound. Because sound is integral to several things, when a spell creates silence or prevents sound it is typically called out in a spell's effect. Therefore, unless the spell specifically states that sound cannot passthrough, it can.
StackExchange has some opinions on this
What about Thunder damage? Because the spells specifically state "...prevents any matter from passing through it and blocking any spells..." or "...It is immune to all damage..." the spells do protect from that.
Note: Both of these spells can provide "total cover" for the purposes of Targeting a Spell