Concentration spells
As written in PHB/DM Guide the following can break concentration:
Using a Magical item that casts a concentration spell follows these same rules. See home rule Using a magical item to cast a spell
Note: Spells that DON'T require concentration do NOT end if the caster or recipient falls unconscious unless the spell says otherwise.
- PHB pg 203 - Concentration: Casting a 2nd spell that requires concentration will end concentration on the first spell.
- Every hit, the PC must make a CON save with DC 10 or ½ of the damage (whatever is higher) or concentration is broken.
- Being incapacitated (specific condition) or killed. Note that the following conditions include Incapacitated:
- Paralyzed
- Petrified
- Stunned
- Unconscious
- Concentration can also be broken by other disturbing events that DM determines could break concentration (fall, ship toss, earthquake, etc.)
- Readying a spell (PHB p. 193 - Ready) Using the Ready action to hold any spell as a reaction requires concentration and will break concentration on any other spell you are concentrating on. Also note that if you take any damage while holding your spell, you must make a CON save as noted above.
- PHB p. 202 - Longer casting times: Casting any spell that takes longer than 1 action to cast will break concentration on any other spell you may be concentrating on. Also note that if you take any damage while casting your spell, you must make a CON save as noted above. Sage Advice
- Note that there exist some creatures who have the innate ability to simply break your concentration on a spell as part of their action.
Using a Magical item that casts a concentration spell follows these same rules. See home rule Using a magical item to cast a spell
Note: Spells that DON'T require concentration do NOT end if the caster or recipient falls unconscious unless the spell says otherwise.